Dosha Test: What's My Ayurvedic Body Type?

The 3 doshas are present in all of us in various proportions. Usually 1 is more predominant in expression. Each dosha is a combination of 2 of the 5 elements (Space, Air, Fire, Water, Earth). Prakruti is our unique constitution determined at the moment of conception. It creates a blueprint for our mental & physical traits. In some individuals 2 or 3 doshas may exist in equal proportion. Our prakruti is the same throughout our lifetime but our vikruti, current imbalance of doshas, may fluctuate in relation to our diet, emotions, lifestyle, as well as the seasons, climate, and environment. Manas prakruti is our mental constitution and manas vikruti our mental imbalances. Understanding our body type allows us to increase self-awareness, know our strengths & weaknesses, habits & tendencies, and anticipate imbalance. This self-knowledge is a powerful tool for adjusting our diet, lifestyle, and daily routine to prevent illness and create radiant health.

The Five Elements

  • Earth
  • Water
  • Fire
  • Air
  • Ether (Space)

Your Constitution

  • Vata = Space and Air
  • Pitta = Fire and Water
  • Kapha = Earth and Water