The Six Paths of Yoga

Hatha Yoga

(Poses and Postures)

Hatha is a general category that includes most yoga styles. It is the practice of asanas (yoga postures) and pranayama (breathing practices), which help bring peace to the mind and body, preparing the body for deeper spiritual practices such as meditation. 

Raja Yoga

(Control of the Mind)

The chief practice of Raja Yoga is meditation. It also includes all other methods which helps one to control body, energy, senses and mind. When body and energy are under control meditation comes naturally.

Bhakti Yoga

(Divine Love)

Through prayer, worship and ritual one surrenders himself to God, channelling and transmuting his emotions into unconditional love or devotion. Chanting or singing the praises of God form a substantial part of Bhakti Yoga.

Japa Yoga

(Repetition of Mantram)

The meditative repetition of a mantra or a Divine name. It is a practice found in Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism and Sikhism. The mantra or name may be spoken softly, enough for the practitioner to hear it, or it may be spoken within the reciter's mind.

Karma Yoga

(The Yoga of Action)

 It is the path chosen primarily by those of an outgoing nature. It purifies the heart by teaching you to act selflessly, without thought of gain or reward. By detaching yourself from the fruits of your actions and offering them up to the Divine, you learn to sublimate the ego. 

Jnana Yoga

(Path of Knowledge and Wisdom)

The attitude of  one-ness with the infinite. 

A spiritual practice that pursues knowledge with questions such as "who am I, what am I" among others. It is considered to be the most direct, but also the most difficult path to find absolute truth.